Which is the right way?

Nelson streetFollowing on from my first blog post I’m going to stay in south west of England and in the fine city of Bristol. If you’ve never been to Bristol before then I highly recommend you do. Even if you’re not a graffiti addict like me, there’s still plenty to see and do. Just so you know I don’t work for Bristol tourist information so I’m not going to sit here and tell you everything about the place! I’ll keep this strictly street art, promise.

There’s so many awe-inspiring pieces of graffiti in Bristol that it’s difficult to know where to start. But I think going back to Nelson Street is the perfect place to begin. From Bristol Temple Meads train station it’s a good 10-15 minute walk to Nelson Street, you’ll walk up from the station towards the city centre, over the River Avon and head towards Broad Street.

At the bottom of Broad Street you’ll see a gothic looking church, this is the city gate and I’ve read it dates as far back as the 14th century. Anyway, enough history. If you walk under the city gate this will take you onto Nelson Street.

You’ll see Bristol’s Community Bike Cafe and the rest is history. . .

Bristol cafe

Nelson st2 Nelson st3

These were some of the first pieces of street art I saw in Bristol and they inspired my graffiti love affair. Who ever knew it could be so amazing? There’s a host of big names who have their work on Nelson Street too, including ROA and the famous Stik.

Work by Mr Aryz

Work by Mr Aryz

Work by ROA

Work by ROA

The famous STIK

The famous STIK

Another view of Nelson St.

Another view of Nelson St.

So if Nelson Street isn’t the perfect place to showcase some amazing street art then I don’t know where is! In such a short space there’s some truly unique pieces of work that are fit for anyone’s Instagram feed.

If you’re looking to discover some incredible street art then I suggest taking a trip to Bristol and Nelson Street. Just make sure you go loaded with a fully charged camera/ iPhone battery.

Graffiti lovers & artists, please add comments to give credits to anyone I’ve missed, and share your favourite graffiti spots.

Peace X

2 thoughts on “Which is the right way?

    • Thanks for the comment! Yeh I think Bristol definitely sets an example of how to embrace street art. Likewise it would be nice if more cities in England had the same relaxed views, but then again, that’s what makes places like Bristol so unique.

      Like

Leave a Reply

